Beef Beergingon! a fun twist on a timeless classic.

Standard

Beef Beergingon.. šŸ˜‰ ( a twist on a classic boeuf bourgingon)

You’re probably reading the title thinking-“what is she saying? It’s beef bourgingon not beergingon- she misspelled it!!” and you would be right.. however I do mean BEERgingon šŸ˜‰ it’s my twist on a famous, french classic.

I came up with it a few days ago, and I really do think it’s ingenious.. how didn’t anyone think of it before? Well, a few days ago I decided to make a beef stew. I had all the ingredients for beef bourgingon, or so I thought. I had the beef, onions, mushrooms, carrots, bacon, celery etc.. and then I realised I have no red wine. It was late, raining,I didn’t feel like going out..so I decided to replace it with something I did have in my fridge- beer. Later I was trying to think of a way to call this stew to put it on my blog.. and I thought of ”beef beergingon”.. I googled it, it seems noone has said it before, so I’m claiming it! šŸ˜‰

Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it, it’s really delicious! Here are the ingredients:

1,2 kilo of stewing beef- chuck steak is fine,something with a bit of fat on it,so it doesn’t dry out.Use any cut of stewing beef you like though. – in big dice- roughly 2x2cm

2 large carrots: roughly sliced

2 stalks of celery, roughly sliced

2 leeks roughly chopped

2 onions- roughly chopped

400ml of beer. I used white, blond beer- but you can use whichever type you like the most.

2 tsp of tomato puree

1 l of good, strong beef stock

2 bayleafs

Salt, pepper, paprika powder, sugar to taste

2 tsp of provencale herbs

3 cloves of garlic- crushed

2-3 tbsp of flour

200g of bacon cut into lardons

250g of button mushrooms cut in quarters

Now, the instructions are pretty straightforward. You season your beef with salt,pepper,paprika and toss it in flour. Then you brown it until very dark, carmelised brown colour.

When your beef is all browned (I do it in batches) set it aside, fry your mushrooms and onions on the same pan as you did your beef. After 2-3 min when they’re browned, set aside and fry off your bacon until golden and deglaze the pan with some water, trying to get rid of all the carmelised bits from the bottom. There’s a lot of flavour in them- don’t throw them out, just add it to your beef.

Now, use a big crock pot or a casserole dish, put your carrots, leeks and celery in there. Put your beef, mushrooms and onions in the pot as well. Add pepper, tomato puree, bacon, garlic, provencale herbs, bayleafs , beer and the beef stock. Bring it up to a boil and simmer for 2 hrs with the lid on, checking every 10-15 min if there’s enough liquid and stirring. After 2 hrs let it cook for 30 more min with the lid off,Ā  so the sauce can reduce.Ā  At the end check the sauce for seasoning.

I like to serve it with mashed potato, but you can serve ith with anything you like. I recommend bread, as it needs something to absorb the sauce.

It’s simple, delicious and full of earthy flavours. You can make it a day in advance and have an amazing dinner ready waiting for you in the fridge.

I hope you like my little spin on this classic. I know it might not look like much, but it’s packed with all the flavours of carmelised beef,vegetables,herbs,bacon,mushrooms and beef. It’s simply delicious.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

