Coconut Panna Cotta & Carribean fruit salsa

Standard

Panna cotta always seemed very complicated to me.I’m not sure why, it just did. So I never made it and never even attempted reading a recipe.

Once I did, I realised- wow, this is dead simple. And I had all the ingredients on hand. Panna cotta means ”cooked cream” and that’s essentially what it is. Cooked, sweetened cream and milk, set with gelatine.. and the flavourings are up to you. Today I used coconut to flavour my panna cotta and added a fresh fruit salade to go with it. I hope you like it.

For 4 portions you will need

400ml of cream ( or a 400ml can of coconut milk)

100 ml of milk

50 g of sugar

About 200g of fresh coconut- grated (or a bag of shredded coconut)

1-2 drops of coconut food flavouring

2,5 tsp of gelatine powder disolved in 3 tbsp of hot water.( or 3 gelatine leafs-soaked in cold water)

For the fruit salade I used 1 banana,2 kiwis and 1 orange- feel free to use any fruit you like.

Put your coconut milk(or cream), milk, sugar and coconut, along with coconut flavouring into a pan and heat it up until the sugar disolves. Add your melted gelatine and stir it in well. Once it’s all combined you can strain the coconut,or leave it for texture. I left it in,for extra ”bite”. Pour the mix into oiled forms/ramequins (I used small coffee mugs, oiled with sunflower oil.

Let them set for 4 hours in the fridge. Before serving, put the panna cottas in the moulds into some hot water, that will loosen them up,or ease the edge of panna cotta with a knife. Shake to get them out, place onto a plate and put the diced fruit around it.

You can use vanilla to flavour your panna cotta..you can use coffee,chocolate,fruit or liquor. You can also serve with different sauces-chocolate, caramel.. it’s all up to you:) enjoy!

2013-02-09 22.11.00

2013-02-09 22.11.06

Leave a Reply

